Official - Post Your Gaming Setup / Rig

Discussion in 'Technology' started by KUSH, Jan 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
This thread is more than 365 days old. Therefore, it is better than any of the shit that gets posted nowadays.
  1. iac

    iac Future Ban List Occupant

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    5
    that person should be dead...
  2. zackychuu

    zackychuu TD Admin / Wanker

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    1,398
    Requesting this emote so I can reply to that pic properly
    [​IMG]
  3. halfbakedchef

    halfbakedchef TD Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    52
  4. MxT

    MxT I'm New Here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is mine, 2011 build.
    INTEL i7 960 3.5ghz cpu
    EVGA x58 3xSLI mobo
    CORSAIR 12GB DDR3 triple channel at 3180.0MHz
    EVGA NvIDIA GTX 570 1.2GB GDDR5 x 1
    CORSAIR SSD 120 GB
    WD BLACK 1TB
    WD GREEN 750GB
    WD BLUE 500GB
    CORSAIR H50 Watercooling for cpu.
    COUGAR 750W PSU

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...70_1561420769249_7649045_n.jpg&size=2048,1520

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...1415609120.63908.1647210051&type=3&permPage=1

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...1415609120.63908.1647210051&type=3&permPage=1
  5. zackychuu

    zackychuu TD Admin / Wanker

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    1,398
  6. cranswick

    cranswick TD Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    33
    my 2+ year old PC...

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 3.2ghz 24/7
    DFI Blood Iron P35 T2RL
    6GB DDR 2 800 1:1 FSB: DRAM
    ATI HD 5850 1GB (stock for now)
    WD Black 500gb
    Antec HCG 520W
    Antec 300 case
  7. Glocky

    Glocky Drinking your tears

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    540
    My 4+ yr old PC...
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 air cooled (Noctua HSF and Antec P182 case fans) @ 3.825 Ghz 24/7
    8 GB(4x2GB) DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 oc'd to 900 at 5-4-5-14 (Corsair)
    So that's 450 FSB when it mattered, running 1:1 with the CPU (450*8.5multi = 3.825 Ghz) on ASUS P5Q Pro
    Asus HD6870 1GB overclocked GPU 1025MHz / RAM 1160MHz (915/1050 is stock)
    750W Corsair PSU
    G510 KB, G9 mouse
    -------------------------------------------------------
    New system spring or fall 2013

    Intel Haswell Quad core with HT with the best Noctua HSF on it (whatever replaces upgrades the D14)
    Asus Z87 Pro mobo
    Top minus 1 or top single GPU video card with at least 2GB VRAM (eg. currently the 670 or 680)
    8GB or 16GB RAM, DDR3-1600 or faster, depending on price points
    blah blah blah PSU, case, to be determined on the CPU/mobo/GPU requirements.
    MxT likes this.
  8. Braden

    Braden I'm New Here

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mobo: Gigabyte Z68 UD3
    CPU: Intel i5 2500K @ 3.3
    RAM: 4GB Crucial DDR3 @ 1333
    GPU: Geforce GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Silent Pro
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 60GB
    HDD: 1+TB Seagate 7200s (1x 500gb 1x 750gb)
    Case: Corsair 600T Black

    24" BenQ 120hz LED Monitor (XL2410T)
    Zowie Celeritas Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown)
    Razer Deathadder 3.5 Mouse
    Sennheiser HD555 Headphones
    Zalman Clip Mic

    Edit: oh and stock sound, stock cpu heatsink, and.... pictures!
    http://i363.photobucket.com/albums/oo76/brado997/IMG155.jpg
    http://i363.photobucket.com/albums/oo76/brado997/IMG125.jpg
    old mouse in the 1st pic
  9. prozac26

    prozac26 A Little Darkly

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    My rig gets OVER 9000!! fps.
  10. jakksilves

    jakksilves LiR

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    330
    CPU: Intel Pentium Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz
    RAM: 2GB Crucial DDR2 @ PC2-6400
    GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset Family
    HDD: Hitachi ATA 160 GB
    Model: Acer Aspire 5735

    Cooler Master Notepal U3
    Logitech G700 Wireless Mouse
    Skullcandy Icon 2

    Can't upgrade the piece of shit, not in the budget. Might be upgrading the RAM and sound.
  11. Roach

    Roach TD Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    176
    this is the house that WoW built.
    jakksilves likes this.
  12. zackychuu

    zackychuu TD Admin / Wanker

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    1,398
    Why not save up and Build a Desktop?
    Upgrading a laptop would be tedious..
  13. jakksilves

    jakksilves LiR

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    330
    Can't save when I have to assist in hospital bills, friend who's giving me a roof over my head was forced to buy a new car, helping him there as well.

    They cut my hours when they found out why I had to submit a request for unpaid PTO. Apparently, they see that idea as negligence over a simple accident.

    Maybe when Steam comes out with a prototype will I consider it, because if rumors are to be true, every single rig is going to become obsolete when it drops. Isn't it, almost every 3-5 years before you end up having to upgrade a Desktop...?
  14. jakksilves

    jakksilves LiR

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    330
    LOL.
  15. TurboTaco

    TurboTaco TD Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    344
    jakk, shouldnt u be getting book deals about your experience getting shotgun'd protecting the store you were guarding? You should be on CBS/NBC in the news and be a local hero dancing with Ellen on her show; not getting reduced hours n being seen as negligent. That is, unless it was a nice story...
  16. jakksilves

    jakksilves LiR

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    330
    No one gives a fuck about a Loss Prevention Agent who got shot at a retailer. Particularly since it happened in the wee morning just after opening near an entrance to a almost empty 4 level parking garage. As for the hours, that's because we're on a productivity program and since I've been out, I couldn't make anymore stops so naturally, those that did, get the rest of the hours. When I was asked how I re-opened my wounds, the moment they heard reaching for coffee...ow.

    Now if you turn your attention to a guy who got shot at let's say, a Walmart, unless its a Double Decker, chances are, it's hard to miss.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/21/margate-walmart-shooting-gunfire-florida_n_1905239.html

    And that fool died for 16$ USD.

    Back on topic....

    Steam Box. Does anyone else thing what Valve might be cooking could put a few gaming rigs back to the drawing board? The only thing I can come up with is something similar to a Macintosh. (Such as it is that Call of Duty Black Ops 2 requirements will be the gold standard pretty soon...)
  17. Mulletzorz

    Mulletzorz DARKLY Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22
  18. Glocky

    Glocky Drinking your tears

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    540
    What's your overclock? Q6600s easily get 3Ghz on stock cooling, and 3.4Ghz on decent cooling.
    Of course 3.6+ is possible with more money/time, but doesn't really change much.
  19. Mulletzorz

    Mulletzorz DARKLY Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22
    it's stock, can't void the warrenty. still kicks ass (IMO) though ;) cost me about $3500 (CAN) 4 years ago.
  20. Glocky

    Glocky Drinking your tears

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    540
    $3500? Not counting my monitor (I have the same one, paid about $200 for it), my who system after taxes was $2400 or so 4 years ago (though swap out the 6870 for a 4870)... Legit Windows, G9 mouse, G15 2ed KB, Creative Labs sound card and 5.1 speakers included in there.
    Unless there's extra stuff that's not shown in the screenshot, sounds like you got hosed man.

    As for overclocking... Q6600 can do 3Ghz on stock volts so no warranty problems there :)
Thread Status:
This thread is more than 365 days old. Therefore, it is better than any of the shit that gets posted nowadays.

Share This Page